Gang of Youths gets APRA nomination for “Deepest Sighs”

Gang of Youths picked up a 2019 APRA Music Awards nomination today for “The Deepest Sighs, The Frankest Shadows.”

As The Industry Observer reports, it’s one of five tracks eligible in the Rock Work of the Year category. The others include “Confidence” by Ocean Alley (which was #1 on Triple J’s Hottest 100 in January), “Million Man” by The Rubens, “Never Ever” by The Rubens featuring Sarah, and “Slow Mover” by Angie McMahon.

This year’s APRA Awards cover songs that were released between July 1, 2017 and Sept. 30, 2018; “Deepest Sighs” was issued as a single in early August 2017, right before Go Farther In Lightness came out. The awards honor songwriters and composers, and the “Rock Work” category is one that’s based primarily on airplay and sales.

The ceremony will take place on April 30 at the Melbourne Town Hall.

See the official APRA Music Awards site for more info.