Gang of Youths at Lafayette in London on August 12, 2021


  1. The Angel Of 8th Ave. (first live performance)
  2. The Heart Is A Muscle
  3. The Deepest Sighs, The Frankest Shadows
  4. Unison (first live performance)
  5. Brothers (first live performance; Dave solo on piano)
  6. Do Not Let Your Spirit Wane
  7. Go Farther In Lightness
  8. Common People – Let Me Down Easy
  9. Magnolia
  10. What Can I Do If The Fire Goes Out?

Comments: Gang of Youths plays its first headlining show since 2019, and first show since the Down to Earth climate relief concert in February 2020. A U.S. band called Kids is the support act. Due to continuing concerns about COVID-19 and in consideration of current health advice, the band requires all attendees to “provide proof of negative lateral flow test within 48hrs of the show.”

The show begins with “The Angel of 8th Ave.,” which is (obviously) played live for the first time. It’s the first of three new songs on the night. “Unison” also gets its premiere live performance, and that’s followed by a third new song that’s listed on the printed setlist as “Brothers.” (see video below) Dave introduces the song this way:

This one is about my father. And like many Black and Indigenous men, he has a fractured story. This song is about my dad, my sister, and my two brothers.

“Let Me Down Easy” begins with the band doing a bit of Pulp’s “Common People,” something they also did at a couple of the early 2020 shows.

Tonight’s show is recorded and streamed three days later on TikTok.

Videos, Photos, etc.